Sewing Love

I forgot just how much I love sewing! Up until recently I had been concentrating on crochet (which I really love too!) and sewing had taken a bit of a back seat in my crafting life. I think a combination of small children and a very cold sewing room have seen me curled up more and more in the living room with a hook and a ball of wool. Crochet thankfully doesn’t take up much room and more importantly it’s quiet so it’s really easy to get on with in the same room as a sleeping babby! Anyway the point was that I haven’t had my sewing machine out as much over the last eighteen months (since Babby was born) as I would have liked.

With the advent of my friends’ new fabric & crafty shop I’ve had the incentive to get my bum in gear and start sewing again! As I posted before I love making bags but recently I’ve been super inspired to try my hand at dressmaking too. In the past I’ve cobbled together a few bits & pieces. Easy maternity clothes were a firm favourite! I love wearing stretchy clothes so getting to grips with knits had been very high on my list of priorities.

image

Stretchy!

Next on my list is possibly the Camellia top from Sewing Avenue. I think I’m going to try it out with some cotton poplin in grey with white stars. However the invisible zip foot I ordered has just arrived so I might tackle the Clemence skirt from Tilly Walnes book Love At First Stitch. I have a nice black linen look cotton for that. Hmm… Decisions decisions! I’m so indecisive! What would you go for first? Keep your eyes peeled because all my makes will be appearing here to keep me motivated to sew more and hopefully sew better.

Leave a Reply

