Pattern Review – Jade Skirt by Paprika Patterns

image

I first spied this skirt in my Instagram feed. Someone had made it with the most awesome fishy fabric but what really grabbed my attention was the construction. I couldn’t work out how on earth those layers at the front were made but I needed to know! Thankfully the poster had linked to the designer of the pattern, Lisa Kievits of Paprika Patterns, and I was able to rush off to her website to buy it. To my dismay I discovered that I was a bit too big for the sizes the pattern was made for and I’m definitely not confident enough at stitching clothes yet to take on the necessary modifications!

Regardless I kept one eye on the Jade Skirt pattern with the hope that one day I’d lose enough weight to fit into it however my willpower is weak so I wasn’t really holding out much hope! Imagine my delight when I discovered that the pattern was being re-released, and not only had it been rejigged but it was now coming in BIGGER SIZES! To say I was happy was an understatement and doubly happy because with the re-release I got a chance to review the pattern!

image

The finished article

My major problem with this pattern is a totally personal thing, but I’m really not a fan of PDF patterns. Unfortunately it seems like they are a necessary evil, especially if you want to get your hands on patterns from indie designers. Personally I’d much rather buy from small designers and support the other crafty people out there so I suppose I’ll just have to suck it up. If we had a local printers I would definitely have paid to get it printed out on one A0 sheet rather than printing on A4 and sticking it together myself.

There is a choice of two views, either a mini or a midi skirt. Although I’m a shortie at 5 ft I opted for the midi length. I do love a good mini skirt, especially in winter with heavy tights and long boots but I have two small kiddies and mini skirts really aren’t practical for me at the minute. My skirt comes to about knee length although I wear it on my waist rather than just below. The fact that it’s made from jersey means there is loads of movement in it and it held up well to a day of running around after my kids and because it’s fully lined it doesn’t ride up which is a definite bonus.

This skirt is really a work of art in fabric origami. The front is made up of a series of horizontal pleats. This had the potential to be a serious pain in the bum if it were not for Lisa’s very helpful video showing you how to fold it, and of course the pattern is marked very clearly with exactly where the folds need to go. I marked the fold points on my fabric with little stitches of different colours. It meant that I was able to practice the folds until I was 100% happy with them and I didn’t have to worry about pins falling out.

image

My stitches were well within the seam allowance (you can just see them if you look hard at the picture above) so they didn’t show up on the outside of the skirt and they all ended up trimmed off in the end. Even if my stitches were still in place you’d not be able to see them because of Lisa’s clever construction, all raw edges are encased within the skirt.

Before the waistband goes on there is a chance to alter the fit a bit and good instructions on how to do this. I found this invaluable because mine needed a bit of tweaking to fit but now it’s possibly the most comfortable thing I own!

image

All in all I loved this pattern. It was clear and easy to follow. I’ll definitely be making another! Next I might try making myself amini version with the added zip detail in the hope that I might get a night out.

image

Hard to make our the pleats but they're there!

4 thoughts on “Pattern Review – Jade Skirt by Paprika Patterns

      • Ah Paragon, my local one closed down a couple of years ago which is a shame as it was handy. I mostly buy my fabric online and from The Textile Studio near me.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I usually buy online but made a special trip for that jersey as it was going to be a project for a dressmaking class I was doing but I couldn’t get my head around the pattern. I’m pleased I didn’t use it all up though because I really love the skirt! The material is super soft & so cosy!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

