No Sweat! My very first crochet jumper!

For Christmas I got a book that had been on my wishlist for a while. Everyday Crochet by Doris Chan.Ā  It had popped up on Amazon as something recommended for me based on the other 500 craft books I’ve bought! First of all I wasn’t too sure if it would suit me because I wasn’t that great at crochet yet but I did want a book on how to crochet clothes for myself so it went on the wishlist.

image

When I looked through the book I knew it was a good choice. There are loads of great patterns and I definitely think there’s something for everyone. I loved all the pullovers but my favourite was No Sweat. This winter I have been all about cosy jumpers and this looked perfect.

image

My favourite is the green sweater

In the book Doris goes into loads of detail about the different types of yarn you can use and gives examples of what she used for each garment. I had fallen in love with Stylecraft Special Aran with wool in Blue Heather some time ago and had been waiting for the perfect project to use this gorgeous yarn. Also it was at the chunkier end of yarn weights recommended so I knew I’d get a nice snuggly jumper!

It took a lot of reading and re-reading the pattern to work out what I was supposed to do but once I had it figured out I found it quite easy to follow. All Doris’ patterns in this book are worked top down in differing patterns of shell stitch. It’s definitely not the easiest method of construction for a noob crocheter but thankfully I’ve come on somewhat since I added this book to my wishlist and after I got the hang of it I was able to follow the pattern with very few problems. I don’t think I’d recommend it to a beginner though! Saying that there is a Ravelry group dedicated to Doris Chan and her patterns and it’s a great place to get help with any issues you might have.

The absolute best thing about this method of construction is being able to try your garment on as you go to see how well it fits at various points and you can lengthen or shorten as needed. As a curvier girl I also loved the addition of short bust rows to give a bit more room in front!

image

All in all I loved making this jumper and I can’t wait to make something else out of the book! There is something immensely satisfying about wearing clothes you have made yourself. I think 2015 will see my homemade wardrobe increasing & multiplying šŸ™‚ Do you make any of your own clothes? Would you like to? Let me know!

image

8 thoughts on “No Sweat! My very first crochet jumper!

    • Thanks! I love it šŸ˜€ I’m in the process of trying to sew a skirt but I obviously didn’t measure myself properly because it needs a bit of taking in before I put the waistband on. It’s been sitting nearly finished for a week so I really need to get a move on!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

