Oaty Banana Pancakes

I love a sweet and bread based breakfast, whether it’s toast with chocolate spread, pancakes, croissants, pastries… Mmmm! The list could go on and on! I am a big fan of carbs, sugar & caffeine in the morning despite knowing how unhealthy it is.

Recently I have got into the habit of making crepes for breakfast at the weekend and we will all sit down as a family and eat. I really love this but I’m pretty sure all that butter, whole milk and white flour can’t really be good for me so I’ve been thinking about going back to fluffy pancakes filled with fruit and oats.  My favourite recipe was a simple one by Jamie Oliver. I’d usually make it with wholemeal flour, grated apple, blueberries or mashed banana and a handful of oats thrown in. I reckoned that made it healthy enough to use as an easy breakfast for the kids! Unfortunately it seemed that I enjoyed them more than anyone else in the house so I ended up having to eat them, ye know, because I couldn’t possibly waste them!

Anyway I fancied trying to make some really quick and easy, healthy pancakes with a minimum of weighing and whisking and after a bit of searching I came up with these oaty banana pancakes. They are light and delicious and super quick to make!

image

Perfect with a little maple syrup!

OATY BANANA PANCAKES

This recipe makes enough for me! Scale up as necessary. I’d say treble the amount if you were going to make enough for two small kids and two adults.

INGREDIENTS

1 large, very ripe banana
1 egg
1/3 cup of porridge oats
1tsp almond butter – totally optional, I added it because I’m an addict!
1/4 tsp baking powder
A small amount of oil or butter for frying

METHOD

Put all the ingredients into a suitable jug or bowl and blend until smooth. You can use a blender if you’re making a lot!

Heat a frying pan with a bit of oil or butter and add a dollop of the batter. I use an icecream scoop so my pancakes are similar sizes!

Fry for a few minutes on each side until they are cooked through.

Serve warm with your favourite toppings!

image

As you can see these pancakes went down a treat with the littlest member of our family and her big brother was a fan too. They were received a lot more favourably than my usual offerings so I’ll definitely be giving them another go!

Edited to add :

I just made this with a drop of vanilla essence and some chopped up chocolate mixed into the batter before I cooked then. It was amazing! It only took a tiny bit of chocolate (I used one square of Lindt 70% dark chocolate) to make them really chocolatey and the wee hint of vanilla really sweetened them up.

2 thoughts on “Oaty Banana Pancakes

Leave a Reply

