Making an actual jumper!

I love cosy jumpers! I think they are possibly my number one favourite item of clothing and I love it when the weather is cool enough to get all snuggled up. For years, and years, and years I’ve wanted to be able to knit myself a jumper but since my knitting skills are limited to say the least I’ve been left having to buy my cosy winter woollies. Hopefully though all that is about to change!

A good friend got me Doris Chan’s book  Everyday Crochet for Christmas and I’ve been inspired to get cracking on my very first crochet garment!

The No Sweat jumper was the one I liked best so after having a good read through all her info on yarns I decided is have a go with Stylecraft Special Aran with wool in blue heather. I’ve been eyeing up this yarn for a long time trying to work out what I wanted to make with it and I’m so excited now!

image

It’s such a gorgeous colour, the photo really doesn’t do it justice. It’s a bluey reddy purple with a gorgeous sheen.

The patterns in Everyday Crochet are constructed top down so you start with the neckline and build towards the bottom in patterns of shells.  It’s definitely not a book for a beginner and it took me a long time of reading and re reading the pattern to figure out what I was supposed to do!

So far I’ve managed to construct the yoke and have started on the body. I’m hoping that I’ll get it competed within maybe another week and I can have a ta-dah! post and give a full review of the pattern.

In the mean time I’ve managed about this much and I’ll show you more when I’m done!

image

2 thoughts on “Making an actual jumper!

Leave a Reply

