The Christmas Tag

I got tagged in this a good while ago now by the lovely Laura over at Day Dreaming Foodie. I totally meant to do it before now, but ye know, life! Also it’s now close enough to Christmas for this to be relevant even though I’ve been getting very excited about this years festivities for months!

1. What is your favourite Christmas movie?
Hmmm… This is a hard one! My favourite films to watch at Christmas aren’t technically Christmas films. When I was little I used to scour the Radio Times to find out when The Princess Bride was going to be on. It is one of my very favourite films at any time if year but it makes me feel very Christmassy! In the same vein I have to watch Love Actually, Die Hard and Home Alone at Christmas! For an actual Christmas themed film I recently discovered Arthur Christmas which is bloomin’ brilliant and may well make it into the new list of Christmas favourites.

2. Do you open your presents on Christmas Eve or Christmas morning?
Once upon a time I was a bit religious and presents were all opened with my family on Christmas Eve, or really very early on Christmas morning after we had come home from midnight mass. As we all fell out of the habit of attending mass we kept the after midnight tradition of opening presents but that was before kids happened! Now presents are strictly for Christmas Day, although me & the big beardy one maybe sneak a wee one in before we head to bed on Christmas Eve!

3. Do you have a favourite Christmas memory?
Probably the last Christmas I believed that the fat man brought me presents its one of my abiding Christmas memories. My mum & dad went all out and created a treasure hunt for me and at the end of it I found a bike in the roof space of our house. It was so brilliant it convinced me that Santa existed for a good while longer as there was no way I actually believed that they could have pulled it off (sorry Mum & Dad!). I loved that bike! I loved getting to go to midnight Mass too. Back then it really was at midnight and one year as we drove home it started to snow. It was totally magical! There’s something about snow on Christmas day that makes it feel really special!

image

Who doesn't love snow?!

4. Favourite festive food?
I love ALL the food, it’s flippin hard to choose just one thing! Christmas is all about the food and the celebrating for me so it’s hard to choose because it’s all intertwined. On Christmas day for starters my mum always used to serve wheaten bread with home made mayo and smoked salmon. To me that is as Christmassy as turkey, ham and all the trimmings and I love it!

5. Favourite Christmas gift?
Other than the bike from Santa I think my favourite present is my engagement ring! We had actually decided to get married a long time before Christmas but we had kept it a secret and we only broke the news to our families and friends on Christmas Eve. There was no point in getting a ring before then as I wouldn’t have been able to wear it so we went out and chose it together. I still love it, although it’s not a traditional engagement ring, I think it suits me a lot better!

6. Favourite Christmas scent?
Mmmm… It’s definitely the smell of pine trees, mulled wine and cooking food! Cakes, puddings, sausage rolls made from turkey stuffing, roasting turkey. I can’t choose just one smell because they are all Christmas!

7. Do you have any Christmas Eve traditions?
On Christmas Eve I always used to meet up with my friends from school for our yearly catch up then there was always a family gathering at my parents house. There would be food, drink and we would open pressies after midnight and continue celebrating long into the night. As parents of young kids we can’t really do the late night thing any more so Christmas Eve is now spent mooching about, tidying cooking and taking it easy if we get five minutes to ourselves!

8. What tops your tree?

At the minute I have an awesome Father Christmas figure that my mate left with me before she moved away to America so he’s a bit special. As kids we always had an angel at the top of our tree.
image

9. As a kid what was the gift you always wanted but never received?
At the risk of sounding asinine and probably like I’m making it up I always wanted a pony! Of course I never got one. Riding lessons were a bit out of reach so the idea that I would actually get a horse was a bit ridiculous! Prude than that I always wanted a Girls World Styling Head, to be honest I’d still quite like one of those!

10. What is the best part of Christmas for you?
It’s definitely getting to spend quality time with my family and friends. I still live in the town I grew up in so a lot of my old friends come home for Christmas to spend the season with their families. It’s lovely getting to see everyone! Now I love the build up to it with the kids, I love hearing carols and watching movies. The excitement of having a bit if time purely for us is just great. Now The Boy has had his playgroup Christmas concert in definitely feeling more Christmassy. Nothing like a group of kiddies singing Christmas songs to warm the heart 🙂

image

Never mind having the wee concert, all that reminiscing had made me feel super Christmassy! The boy and the big beardy one are off for a fortnight so lots of family stuff to do and lots of friends to catch up with! I tag Maeve from W[r]ite Noise to have a think about Christmas and write her own post if she has the time!

Leave a Reply

