Yummy Scrummy Mulled Porridge

Now Halloween is over I’m starting to feel a little festive. I’m thinking ahead to the end of December already, although I won’t mention the dreaded “C” word just yet! Dark nights and cold days need a little something to help you through so I’m a big fan of rich and spicy flavors to help warm me up. I do love a mince pie and a glass of mulled wine or cider but it’s hardly what you want first thing in the morning! Mulled porridge on the other hand is just the ticket!

I’m not really a fan of unadulterated porridge. There’s something a bit off putting about the texture so I like porridge with bits in. A bit of added flavour doesn’t go amiss either!

To save time in the morning I prepare this the night before. I’m sure you could pop it in the slow cooker so it would be ready for the morning but since my slow cooker is massive and I’m the only one that eats this it wouldn’t work too well for me.

Into a saucepan I grate one apple, I add a handful of raisins, a pinch of cinnamon and a teeny bit of nutmeg. I add a half cup measure of regular porridge oats and some water. I usually use twice the amount of water to the amount of oats. Then I give everything a stir, pop the lid on and leave it until the morning.

image

It doesn’t take long to cook because the oats get a chance to soak up the water, or milk if you prefer to use that. I’m not a huge fan of milk, never really liked the taste but I do like a bit of extra creaminess in my porridge so I stir in some yogurt before I serve. The raisins get all plump and juicy from the overnight soaking and the oats get a chance to soak up juice from the apples and the spice so all the the flavours blend into a scrummy, yummy bowl of deliciousness!

If you’re looking for something a bit spicy and totally seasonal you can’t go wrong with this. It’s the perfect way to warm yourself up in the morning and set yourself up for the day ahead. Maybe if I don’t eat it too quickly in the morning I’ll remember to take a photo of the cooked porridge for you all to drool over!

Leave a Reply

